M.I.A. back in space

photo from Sangam

The rumours are not true.

Over the summer word on the street was that M.I.A was over her musical career. Rumours said she wanted to take a step back from the fame, and raise her new baby boy Ikhyd.

Rumours lie. On January 12, 2010, M.I.A herself posted a video on youtube and twitter of her brand new song ‘Space Odyssey’. And according to her label, Interscope, the track should be on her forthcoming album, due this summer.

The track was written as an angry response to a New York Times story called “The 31 Places to Go in 2010” that listed Sri Lanka at number one. M.I.A, whose family is Sri Lankan Tamil.  The article displayed “scenic” images of Sri Lanka with images alongside images of children torn apart by civil war. M.I.A tweeted “Here is the lush coastline they are talking about,” with a link that she warns to only click if you want your day ruined.
This track has M.IA all over it with its unusual baseline, electro feel and trippy visuals. You don’t believe me…see for yourself.

-Melissa S. Robinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Economics, Media News, Music, Uncategorized

Leave a comment